• Recognising catalytic finance that impacts Industry, Economy and Society

In 2016, KBA launched the Sustainable Finance Catalyst Awards and successfully celebrated institutions that practice catalytic finance which has a direct impact on the financial industry, the economy and the society at large. This year, we are looking to recognize exceptional institutions that have embedded Sustainable Finance Practices in their operations.

Through the award, banks and other financial institutions, will once again be accorded a unique platform to showcase their industry leadership and innovation while reinforcing the role they play towards sustainable development. In addition to being ranked as top among peers, institutions can leverage the recognition to attract clients and partners thereby contributing to further business success.

Key Dates:

  • Call for Nominations: 10th June 2019
  • Nominations Deadline: 10th September 2019
  • Shortlisting and judging of Nominees: September to October 2019
  • Awards Ceremony: November 2019

Award Categories:

Category 1

  • Best Practice in Sustainable Finance

Category 2:

  • Client Case Study – Financing SMEs
  • Client Case Study – Commercial
  • Client Case Study – Bank Operations
  • Client Case Study – Promoting Gender Inclusivity
  • Client Case Study – Financing the Informal Sector

Category 3:

  • Most Innovative Bank

Category 4:

  • Special Award – Best in Sustainable Finance in the East African Region

Category 5:

  • Best in Customer Service

Category 6:

  • Best Overall Award

Category 7:

  • Most Improved Award

Members of the Kenya Bankers Association (KBA) are eligible to submit entries for the Catalyst Award. Non-KBA banks, mobile network operators offering financial services or financial institutions, including development finance institutions, micro finance banks, pension funds, insurance companies and government agencies, may also submit an entry.

Entries will be accepted until 10th September 2019. Thereafter shortlisting of nominees and judging site visits will take place in September to October 2019. The winners will be announced and the awards presented in November.

Sustainable Finance Guiding Principles & Industry Standards 

The Kenya banking industry in March 2015 adopted the Sustainable Finance Initiative (SFI) Guiding Principles that guide the banks in balancing their business goals with the economy’s development priorities and socio-environmental concerns.

The SFI Principles that were officially launched by the Central Bank of Kenya Governor Dr. Patrick Njoroge on 1st December 2015 are grounded in three main priorities, namely equipping the financial services sector to perform optimally in the area of comprehensive risk management; enhancing business practice, leadership and governance; and promoting industry growth and development by fostering a culture of innovation and inclusivity enabled by new technology.

The Principles draw from and harmonize several global best practice standards, including the Equator Principles, IFC Performance Standards, Nigerian Sustainable Banking Principles, African Development Bank (AfDB) Green Growth Policy, Global Reporting Initiative (GRI) Reporting Guidelines, UNEP Finance Initiative (UNEP-FI) Guidelines, UN Global Compact Principles, ISO 26000:2010, and Kenya’s National Climate Change Policy (draft).

Download Catalyst Award Templates

Kindly download the entry template below, populate it with your firm’s submission and submit by emailing This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.